

# Minutes of the 84<sup>th</sup> New Zealand Fire Brigades' Institute Annual General Meeting

# Baypark Arena – Lion Foundation Centre Tauranga 2 November 2014

### **MINUTES**

The meeting commenced at 0900 hours.

President Allen Bestwick called the meeting to order and welcomed members, delegates and observers.

He then introduced the NZFBI Council as follows:

- > Immediate Past President Ian Wellings
- Vice President John Stevenson
- > Councillor John Klaphake
- Councillor Brendon Wood

He also acknowledged the NZFBI Past Presidents in attendance:

- Bruce Didham
- > Sandy Lawson
- Rob Saunders
- Don Roper
- > Tony Swain
- Cathy Trevathan
- Brian Watters
- Ian Reid

Apologies were received from Councillor Mike Dombroski, Past President Emrys Evans and

**MOTION:** That the apologies be accepted.

Moved: Vice President Stevenson Seconded: Councillor Klaphake

The Motion was CARRIED.

Minutes of the NZFBI AGM

## Minutes of the 83<sup>rd</sup> AGM

**MOTION:** That the minutes of the 83<sup>rd</sup> Annual General Meeting be accepted as a true and accurate record of proceedings.

Moved: President Bestwick Seconded: Councillor Wood

The Motion was CARRIED.

## **President's Report**

The President's Report has already been published and circulated.

This month, Councillor Mike Dombroski has reluctantly resigned from Council due to family and work commitments. President Bestwick acknowledged him for his dedication and persistence working for the reactivation of the scholarship programme and for his ongoing support and advice.

**MOTION:** That the President's Report, as contained in the UFBA Annual Report as circulated, be accepted.

Moved: President Bestwick

Seconded: Past President Trevathan

The Motion was CARRIED.

President Bestwick congratulated incoming President John Stevenson on his new role. He also thanked the staff at the UFBA office, the Exam Panel and NZFBI Past Presidents.

#### **Guest Speaker**

Councillor Brendon Wood introduced Judith Stanley, the recipient of the 2014 NZFBI Scholarship. Judith spoke about her trip to Australia and presented the findings in her report.

#### **NZFBI Encouragement Award**

The Encouragement Award is given to the brigade with the biggest uptake in sitting our exams. This year, the award goes to Wellington Airport Fire Service for the second year running.

SFF Tim O'Halloran accepted the award on behalf of the Wellington Airport Fire Service.

#### **Presentation of Diplomas**

#### **Associate**

Jason Mooney Christchurch Airport Fire Service/Woodend Volunteer Fire Brigade

Ryan McCarty Otara Fire Brigade

Sonny Wilson Wellington Airport Fire Service

**Fellow** 

Kyle Steans Christchurch Airport Fire Service/Lincoln Volunteer Fire Brigade

Scott Lanauze Cromwell Volunteer Fire Brigade
Shanan Fraser Silverdale Volunteer Fire Brigade
Lester Gemmell Wellington Airport Fire Service

Minutes of the NZFBI AGM 2

David O'Sullivan Wanaka Volunteer Fire Brigade John Klaphake Wellington Fire Service Support Unit

## **Council Membership**

The NZFBI has received two nominations for two vacancies on the Council:

- 1. Scott Lanauze of the Cromwell Volunteer Fire Brigade; and
- 2. Russell Postlewaight, a NZFBI Past President

**MOTION:** That Scott Lanauze and Russell Postlewaight be appointed to the NZFBI Council.

Moved: President Bestwick Seconded: Councillor Wood

The Motion was CARRIED.

# **Installation of Officers of the Institute**

President Bestwick presented John Stevenson with the chain of office and lapel badge.

President Stevenson then presented Past President Bestwick with his Past President lapel badge.

#### **General Business**

MOTION: That Allen Bestwick be awarded Life Honorary Membership of the NZFBI
Moved: Past President Tony Swain
Seconded: Past President Sandy Lawson

The Motion was CARRIED.

General discussion took place regarding the new examination framework.

The President invited members to attend the 85<sup>th</sup> AGM to be held in Wellington in 2015.

The Annual General Meeting closed at 1005 hours.

Minutes of the NZFBI AGM 3